Heroes 2017-07-17T16:20:28+00:00
  • 2017 SFGHF Heroes

Congratulations to our 2017 Heroes

Each year, the Foundation joins with the public health community to honor those within the community who go above and beyond to care for San Francisco’s people. Our Heroes demonstrate exceptional and inspirational expertise in health care and we honor them by sharing their stories at the annual Heroes & Hearts luncheon in February.

Program Manager, ZSFG Health Advocates, Zuckerberg San Francisco General 

Staff Attorney, Bay Area Legal Aid
Legal Diretor, San Francisco Medical-Legal Partnership, Children’s Health Center, Zuckerberg San Francisco General

See their film — Helping Hands: Anais Amaya and Jia Min Cheng

Professor of Surgery, UCSF
Attending Trauma Surgeon, Zuckerberg San Francisco General

See the film — When Every Second Matters: Dr. Peggy Knudson

Professor of Medicine, UCSF
Chief, UCSF Division of General Internal Medicine Director Health Communications Program Center for Vulnerable Populations, Zuckerberg San Francisco General

See the film — Partners in Health: Dr. Dean Schillinger

For full details, Heroes Announcement Press Release.

Multi-Year Hero Honorees Roster

2006:    Charles Faciani • John Joseph Garrity • Joseph Giacomini • Antionette Griffin, RN • Geoffrey Manley, MD
2007:    Mary Dunnigan • Margaret Hagan • Laura Mahlmeister • Pat Putney • William P. Schecter, MD • Neils Tangherlini
2008:    Alicia Boccellari, PhD • Robert V. Brody, MD • Catherine Dukes • Bob Guinan • Fernando Hechavarria
2009:    Ed Marquez • Dolph Shapiro, MD • Ilana Strubel, DVM • Marlis Tanner • Midge Wilson • Hal F. Yee, Jr., MD
2010:    Clem Donahue, MD • Marsha & Bruce Dyer • Amalia Fyles • Sara Miles & Michael Reid • Tony Stefani
2011:    Mary Morgan • Dewey Rosetti • Shannon Thyne, MD • John Weidinger
2012:    Richard Coughlin, MD • Harlan L. Kelly, Jr. • Martha Ryan • Marlene Tran
2013:    John Cathey • Rochelle Dicker, MD • Carol Lam, MSW • Rachel Orkand, MSW • David Sands
2014:    Thomas Perkins • Joan Varney • Joe Drake
2015:    Diane Havlir, MD • Edgar Pierluissi, MD • Maya Vasquez, RN
2016:    Pam Baer • James Larson, COT • Sargent Raphael Rockwell • Terry Saltz • Clement Yeh, MD
2017:    Anais Amaya • Jia Min Cheng • Margaret Knudson, MD • Dean Schillinger, MD