Board of Directors and Advisory Council

The Board of Directors are elected volunteers charged with making policy and exercising fiduciary responsibility for the organization. The Foundation is incredibly grateful for their leadership, expertise, and commitment to our mission.



John H. Bell
Mercer (US) Inc.

Judy Guggenhime
Community Leader

Michael MacBryde
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Schuyler Hudak
Cor Media

Lifetime Directors

Pam Baer
Community Leader

George H. Clyde
Community Leader

Ex Officio Advisors

Paula Carien Schultz
President, Advisory Council


Helen Archer-Dusté, RN, MS
Director, Quality and Safety
Sutter Health West Bay

Sue Carlisle, MD, PhD 
Vice Dean
UCSF School of Medicine at ZSFG

Charles Charnas
Community Leader

Julia Damasco
Tax Attorney/Partner
Miller Kaplan Arase LLP

Susan P. Ehrlich, MD, MPP
Chief Executive Officer
Zuckerberg San Francisco General

Alex R. Fisher
Fisher Development, Inc.

Suzanne Giraudo, PhD
Clinical Director, Department of
Pediatrics – Child Development Center
California Pacific Medical Center 

Lionel C. Johnson
Pacific Pension & Investment Institute

Jenna Lim
Founder and CEO

Janis MacKenzie
Founder & President, MacKenzie Communications

James D. Marks, MD, PhD
Chief of Performance Excellence
Zuckerberg San Francisco General

Andrew McCollum

Theodore Miclau, III, MD
Vice Chair, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Zuckerberg San Francisco General

Dionne Cruz Miller, MPH
Chief Operating Officer
Kaiser Permanente

Ellen Magnin Newman
Ellen Newman Associates

John K. Noonan
Community Leader

Alex Rosenblatt, CLTC
Financial Advisor
Northwestern Mutual

Bob Tandler
Co-CEO, Fritzi Realty
Co-Managing Partner, Tehama Partners

Jonathan Tsao, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP
TSAO Design Group

Beth S. Veniar, CPA
Certified Public Accountant

Advisory Council


The Advisory Council comprises Founding Directors, former board members, and volunteers who remain engaged with the activities of the Foundation and the hospital. Members meet regularly, and provide counsel to the current Board of Directors throughout the year. The Foundation is grateful for their past efforts as well as their continued contribution to our mission.


Paula Schultz 
Advisory Council Co-President

George Clyde
Advisory Council Co-President; Lifetime Director

Amy Busch
Former Board Member

Bill Schecter
Founding Director

Dan Rosenthal
Former Board Member

Gene Marie O’Connell
Former Board Member, 
Former Hospital CEO

Gretchen de Baubigny
Founding Director

Herbert Myers
Former Board Member

James C. Flood
Founding Director

Jennifer Brokaw
Capital Campaign Committee Member

John Luce
Former Board Member


Laura Robertson
Former Board Member

Leon Tuan
Former Board Member

Lucinda Emmet
Founding Director

Maggie Mui
Former Board Member

Mary Bersot
Former Board Member

Mary Huss
Former Board Member

Michael Humphreys
Former Board Member 

Pam Baer
Lifetime Director

Paul Volberding
Founding Director

Roland Pickens
Former Board Member

Sally Lovett
Founding Director

Tina Frank
Former Board Member